Gender Commission appointed

President Mugabe has appointed the Zimbabwe Gender Commission that will be chaired by veteran civil servant, Mrs Margaret Sangarwe-Mukahanana.

Chief Secretary to the President and Cabinet Dr Misheck Sibanda confirmed the appointment of the nine-member Commission yesterday.

“His Excellency the President has approved the appointment of Margaret Sangarwe-Mukahanana as chairperson of the Zimbabwe Gender Commission in terms of Section 245 (1) (a) of the Constitution of Zimbabwe and to also appoint the following in terms of Section 245 (1) (b) (i) of the same Constitution of Zimbabwe; Dr Nyepudzai Nyangulu, Mrs Sibongile Chambakale Mauye, Mrs Tsungirirai Kundai Hungwe-Chimbunde, Mrs Naomi Chimbetete, Mr Obert Matshalaga, Mr Victor Nkiwane and Dr Paul Kadzima as members of the Zimbabwe Gender Commission.

“It is also approved, in terms of Section 245 1(b) (ii) of the Constitution of Zimbabwe, that Mawonera Peter (Chief Chikwizo) be appointed as a member of the Zimbabwe Gender Commission,” Dr Sibanda said in the statement.

Mrs Sangarwe-Mukahanana (55) holds a Bachelor of Administration and Political Science — an MBA from the University of Zimbabwe — and a Masters in Natural Resources Management from the University of Manitoba among others. She is a former Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Tourism and Hospitality Industry and held various positions in Government. She sits on boards of several organisations that include the Infrastructure Development Bank of Zimbabwe, Mosi oa Tunya Development Company and the United Nations World Tourism Organisation Fund among others.

Mrs Mauye (50) is a development consultant and holds several qualifications that include a Bachelor of Arts in Economic History from the UZ and a Master of Arts in Development Studies from the University of East Anglia. She has worked as a volunteer at the Ezekiel Guti University, a development consultant at SNV Netherlands Development Consultant and as Provincial Administrator for Manicaland among several positions and an assistant researcher at UZ’s Department of Economics.

Dr Nyangulu, who is a qualified nurse, holds a PhD in Organisations Management Science and Management Learning from the University of Lancaster and Masters in Manpower Studies from the University of Westminister. She is training manager at Steward Bank and is a former chief executive officer of the National Investment Trust among several portfolios she has held.

Mrs Hungwe-Chimbunde (72) is a qualified nurse and midwife and holds a Bsc in Reproductive and Health and Family Sciences. She once served as a Deputy Minister of Health and Child Welfare and worked at Mpilo Maternity Hospital in various capacities and as Senior Sister at Harare City Health Department among several other posts.

Mrs Chimbetete (49) is a consultant. She holds a BA in Geography from the UZ and a Masters in Environmental Policy and Planning also from the UZ among several qualifications. She has held various positions in Government and civil society and is a former Executive Director of the Zimbabwe Women Resource Centre Network.

Mr Matshalaga (63) holds a BA General from UZ and a Masters in Public and International Affairs among other qualifications. He is a former MP for Zvishavane-Ngezi and also served in Government as Deputy Minister of Home Affairs and Foreign Affairs respectively.

Mr Nkiwane (53) is a lawyer by profession and holds a Bachelor of Laws and a Master of Laws from the UZ.

He is the current Executive Dean of the Herbert Chitepo Law School at the Great Zimbabwe University and has lectured at several institutions on the continent.

Dr Kadzima (58) holds a PhD in Business Administration, an Msc in Strategic Management and several diplomas and certificates and is the Provincial Bishop for Manicaland African Apostolic Church.

He is a former MP for Nyanga and is the current Executive Chairman of Travel Media Holdings and has also held several posts in various organisations.

Herald – Farirai Machivenyika (Herald Reporter)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *